Topic

Safety of heat exchangers on cannister stoves.

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Safety of heat exchangers on cannister stoves.

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    Shawn Basil

@bearpaw

Locale: Southeast

I have a question for those who have used heat exchangers on cannister stoves during cold weather. I have no experience with them, but the technique sounds like it should post a major explosion risk. A passage from Climbing Magazine says this:

"A heat exchanger — a piece of copper tubing that wraps around your canister, with one end passing through the flame — helps your stove operate efficiently in cold weather (or when your canister is running low) by heating up the canister and thus pressurizing its contents. Heat exchangers enable your stove to spit out more fuel, and therefore more BTUs. In a cold environment, a heat exchanger can be essential; without one, butane stoves have a tendency to sputter as the fuel runs low. After coiling the heat exchanger around a new canister, I wrap the canister in aluminum foil and then slip the whole fuel assembly into a custom-made, duct tape-covered foam cozie. This insulates the heat exchanger (making it more efficient), and prevents it from melting gear, should you inadvertently bump the stove while cooking."

Considering that Snow Peak specifies to avoid exposing their cannisters to temps above 120 degrees F, how can it be safe to use the system if the cozy is necessary to prevent the exchanger from "melting gear"?

Am I missing something or is this a really bad idea?

Also, the poster claimed to have used this system hundreds of times in sub-zero conditions. I could believe this if he meant 0 Centigrade, but can anyone enlighten me if this is possible in Farenheit? It seems like an absolutely wild claim of an unsafe technique to me.