Topic

Nylon in my clothing – help!

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Nylon in my clothing – help!

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    cyndy b
    BPL Member

@triskele

Locale: Somewhere in the Southwest

Hello –

I'm relatively new to approaching UL, one of my biggest problems has always been being warm enough at night. Another problem is, financially right now I can't afford a lot of new stuff, so I am trying to figure out how to best use what I have.

So, to my question. I have 2 'sport tops' I originally got for biking and (day)hiking. One is a Sporthill top, with 63% nylon, the rest polyester and spandex; the other is made by Hind and is *83%* nylon, the rest poly and spandex. I was considering using one of these tops as a wicking layer for backpacking (silk as baselayer), since they are light. But I'm not sure, with all that nylon, they are worth their weight in warmth. (I intend to wear a 100% merino wool top over this layer, too)

Can anyone comment? Is nylon really poor for warmth, or is it impossible to really say in a fabric blend such as these, or.. ?

Another question I have is how tight a 'good' wicking layer ought to be – I have a tough time finding things small enough for me.

Clueless in CA,

Cyndy

Mark Verber
    BPL Member

@verber

Locale: San Francisco Bay Area

Hey Cyndy:

You posting was a bit confusing to me. You talked about:

1) A base layer – silk
    2) A wicking layer – your nylon blend sports shirt
    3) A merino wool shirt

Base and wicking are two names for the same thing. Conventional wisdom would be you wear just one of these shirts any any given time, and then you layer on top of it something for warmth, and/or something to protected against wind and/or wet.