Topic

Wmn’s UL gear recommendations

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists Wmn’s UL gear recommendations

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    W 2

@mudfish271

Locale: Foothills of Sierra Nevadas

Hey gang …

Just moved to the Sierra Nevadas of California from the east coast. I'm used to backpacking in the southern Appalachians of NC, SC, TN, and GA with a 40 lb + pack. Sometimes heavier if I was guiding a group. All of my gear is about 15 years old and looking to replace all of it for 3-season backpacking UL in the Sierras.

I am 5'2", 130 lb female. I would love to get to 30 lbs or less pack weight. No sure what base wt vs skin wt exactly means. I am new to the UL world. I just want to enjoy exploring the Sierra's without carrying a heavy pack.

Preferences: I tend to get cold while sleeping and am a side sleeper. I like star-gazing in my tent while being protected from mosquitos, insects, etc…

I've tried perusing all the various lists here on the forum but its all a bit overwhelming.

I was considering the following:

1) Mountain Hardware 32 deg Phantasia … 21 oz. or Western Mountaineering 32 deg Summerlite …. 18 oz
    Are there better sleeping bags?

Sleep pad: Thermarest wmn's Neoair xlite (12 oz)

2) Big Agnes Seedhouse UL1 (34 oz) vs Fly Creek UL1 (27oz) or is there a better shelter based on my desire to star-gaze on clear mild nights? The Fly Creek Platinum UL1 is a bit out of my price range but if it goes on sale or I can find a site with a discounted price, I just may spring for it.

3) Cook kit/Stove … I love to cook in the backcountry and often make one-pot "gourmet" meals. I am used to cooking for a group but now I expect will be cooking solo. I was looking at the Snow Peak Litemax Titamium Stove (1.9 oz) w/ gas can (3.9 oz).