Topic

Is it worth buying a Zpacks Hexamid tarp if I have a TT Notch? And what color if I do?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Is it worth buying a Zpacks Hexamid tarp if I have a TT Notch? And what color if I do?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    chris arvin
    BPL Member

@kychris

Locale: Red River Gorge Area

I've sold quite a bit of gear and have a few hundred dollars burning a hole in my paypal account. I need to buy something. :)

I've been eyeballing a Zpacks Hexamid for a few years now. I think I'd rather have the tarp than the tent.

I'd lack to get my pack size down to around a Murmur or at least to the point where I don't have to use a hipbelt. I'm using a Gorilla right now, plenty of room, and about 7-8 pounds base weight. I hope to get my volume down to use the Murmur.

I love my Notch. There's nothing wrong with it except that it is 27.5 ounces with 8" easton stakes and that I have to use my black diamond adjustable poles with it. I have non-adjustable LT3s that would work with a hexamid. That difference would save about a pound of weight right there and the LT3s are more comfortable. I guess I could get a pair of LT4s though for the Notch.

If I figure up everything for the Hexamid, it weighs about 17.5 ounces which includes using a Borah Bugbivy and a small tyvek sheet for gear. So the weight savings would be 10 ounces not including the difference in weight of the poles.

Does this sound worth it?

What color seems the best? I'm leaning towards the white.

Thanks for any advice.

David Maxwell
    BPL Member

@davidmaxwell

Locale: eastern, tn

They now have a camo pattern for their tarps and tents.

chris arvin
    BPL Member

@kychris

I forgot to add that I'm mostly a weekend hiker with a week long trip a few times a year. I backpack in KY, TN, and the VA area.

Ian