Topic

Nikon madness

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Off Piste Photography Nikon madness

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    Ian
    BPL Member

@10-7

I really appreciated all of the advice I received on here with my last question so here's my next one…

After agonizing over the sheer number of quality mirror-less and point-and-shoot options out there, I've decided to invest my time and money into my DSLR even though it's the heaviest option available to me.

My current setup is a Nikon D5000 with the standard 18-55 and 55-200 DX kit lenses.

My wife was a photo journalist by trade in the Air Force (pre digital) and enjoys using the camera so between the two of us, any upgrades we make to our system will get used although we are both novice.

With that painfully long preamble out of the way, here's what I'm looking at. As typical for backpacking in the PNW (and most of the US for that matter), I appreciate having the ability to cover a wide range of shots with my lenses and I wouldn't feel comfortable leaving either of my kit lenses at home. So I have two ideas:

Option 1) Nikon will release the AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-300mm f/3.5-6.3G ED VR to the market next month. Apparently it is 10oz lighter than the AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR and $100 less. I realize that this is a jack of all trades/master of none lens but in my mind, this lens will be a great compromise of performance, weight, and simplicity for a DSLR. The weight is the same as the 18-200 so unless I hear a good reason why, don't think I'm going to consider that one.