Topic

Should we support stove manufacturers who don’t supply replacement parts?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Should we support stove manufacturers who don’t supply replacement parts?

Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Author
    Bill (L.Dog) Garlinghouse
    BPL Member

@wjghouse

Locale: Western Michigan

Yes, this is a bit of a rant. I've been using a Monatauk Gnat for two years now, and I have been spending way too much time trying to find an o-ring for it. It hasn't failed, but its getting a little stiff, and I wanted a replacement in my maint kit.

It looks like Monatauk is out of business? Their web domain name now goes to a Japanese site talking philosophically about love. Most of the vendors are out of stock on Monatauk products, or nearly so … I found a European domain, and am waiting for a response from my email to them. Otherwise, I have yet to find anyone carrying a maintenance kit or O-Ring.

I understand the Gnat is manufactured by Fire Maple in China. Fire Maple's nomenclature for the stove is FMS-116t. They have not responded to an email I sent over a week ago.

The FMS-116T is also sold as the Olicamp Kinetic Ultra Their customer service email was forwarded to their US Distributor, Liberty Mountain, who says they don't have any in stock, that it will be 4 months, and they couldn't provide me with the tech specs – Although they offered to get me one somehow.

I went to several hardware stores looking for something that matches, and the best I could find in terms of i.d and o.d. was not as thick as the original.

I'm sure I could run this down further. Take a mic to the o-ring to get exact measurements, and scour the internet, but I shouldn't have to.