Topic

Tentative List – Thru Hike Noob

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists Tentative List – Thru Hike Noob

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • Author
    Katrina Redman

@erodak

Hi, all.

First, a little about me and where i'm going:

Westbound ADT around the beginning of June – a bit late in the year, but i'm sticking around for my brother's wedding. Both route and schedule are flexible to accomodate weather/financial emergencies, and i'm trying to avoid cities as much as possible (any wisdom here would be much appreciated). I plan on hanging out in Colorado for few months to prepare for desert hiking (of which i have zero experience), then hooking southwest and going north on the PCT, landing in Oregon. My list is (hopefully) relevant up to Colorado.

Fun fact: i hate clothes. Seriously, i hate shopping for them, i hate wearing them, i hate carrying them around. Unfortunately, they are required for protection/avoiding unwanted attention from the police and lascivious people. Finding UL clothing is stirring up more than a bit of consternation and sticker shock – that said, i'm willing to shell out for clothes if it means it will last indefinitely/comes with a boss warranty. The less flashy, the better.

As for weight, i'm aiming for 25-30lbs with a full pack. This seems to be considered pretty heavy here, but i figure i'll shed weight as i learn what works and what doesn't. Also, i'm not obsessive over weight (blasphemy!), but i am highly concious of it. The weight isn't listed as i have yet to aquire all the items, but be aware that i'm trying to find the lightest options available. Most of this stuff is new, since i've used borrowed/heavy-from-home gear up to now.

Okay, here we go:

Clothing:
    – 1 pair underwear