Topic

Do you carry a backup fire starter? What and Why or Why Not?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums SuperUltraLight (SUL) Backpacking Discussion Do you carry a backup fire starter? What and Why or Why Not?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 109 total)
  • Author
    Rick Sutton
    BPL Member

@rickcsutton

Locale: Midwest

Last year on a remote, non-resupply, 10 day trip, my mini bic falled to work on the 2nd night out. I do carry 8 backup matches and a match box cardboard striker as my fire starter back-up, yet seeing we had wind and rain almost every day and evening, I wonder if the matches would even have lit my Esbit tabs. I was fortunate to borrow my buddy's lighter for the remainder of the trip.

I have been using a bic for almost 20 years and never had a malfunction before, however, I am now rethinking my ability to light a esbit and eat my meals if this happens again. I understand this could be a one time occurance, however it would have been a rougher trip if I was hiking alone. Since I only cook my dinners, I would still eat everyday, yet, I'm sure I would have missed the extra calories and energy my dinners provide.

I have been looking at some other fire starters, yet, rarely see these on too many SUL gear lists. This has me wondering……

Do you carry a backup fire starter on a longer than a weekend trip? If so, what do you bring and what is your resoning for bringing it or for leaving it at home?

Thanks in advance.

Bob Gross
    BPL Member

@b-g-2-2

Locale: Silicon Valley

I also use a mini-Bic as my primary fire source. For a backup, I carry a book of paper matches that is covered by a scrap of plastic wrap, and it weighs two-tenths of an ounce.

You see, if David Thomas and some others of us were there, we would have a full-blown engineering lab analysis of what failed.