Topic

Looking at a new lightweight camera with fisheye lens capability, any recommendations?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Off Piste Photography Looking at a new lightweight camera with fisheye lens capability, any recommendations?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Roger Bartlett

@mn2capisco

Locale: So. Cal

Hello all, I've been poking around here as I've lately been exploring new photography methods to expand beyond my simple point-and-shoot snaps to this point. I'm no expert, but I know my Panasonic DMC-ZS3 limits my current experimentation in taking VR Spherical Panoramas, and it's also gotten pretty beat up through the years (I'm finding discoloration and sunspots from what are likely scratches on the lens).

Here's a few considerations for what I'd like, any recommendations would be greatly appreciated!

*Low weight, obvious given the purpose site. Point and shoot is preferable for this reason, but I'm starting to look at mirrorless for my applications. DSLR I wouldn't know what to do with, and I'm not sure I could justify the added weight and money given my limited skills
    *Fisheye lens converter for my VR experimentation; I'm hoping to decrease the number of pictures I have to take from the current ~50 with the wide-angle ZS3…it's a chore but I love the results I've gotten so far.
    *Large zoom is preferable, I enjoy the 12X optical zoom on the ZS3
    *Price under ~$400 would be nice, if I got a bit above it to get much better results I think I could justify it.