Topic

Down redistribution after washing 0 degree bag

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Down redistribution after washing 0 degree bag

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Curtis B.
    BPL Member

@rutilate

Locale: Pacific Northwest

How do you redistribute down into possibly closed panels after washing a down bag?

I have a North Face 0 degree bag that I washed by hand in the tub using Nikwax Down Wash and dried on very low heat in the dryer with tennis balls. Bag is now properly fluffy, except in about 3 panels.

I've held the bag up and briskly brushed the neighboring overstuffed panel downwards towards the empty panel. It appears that there are baffles to either side of these panels, preventing me from fluffing the down into the panel. I'm baffled (hah!) as to how the down disappeared from the panels, let alone how to get it to return.

Any suggestions?

todd
    BPL Member

@funnymo

Locale: SE USA

Probably, the ends of the chambers have semi-closed baffles to LIMIT down movement. You'll have to gently, perhaps painstakingly, work excess down back into those chambers.

Feel around for the opening…it has to be there.

Please report back, too.

Joshua Abel
    BPL Member

@aberrix

after recently washing my down bag (with nikwax) in a front loader I had to run it through the dryer about 8 times with tennis balls before it was anywhere near being dry – then again I was very nervous and just did "fluff dry" (no heat). I left it out in my office draped over a table and would visit 2-3 times a day to check each baffle and work out by hand any lumps I still felt. It took a good 3-5 days of constant checking and fluffing and working it to get the bag back to normal.

. Kirby
    Spectator

@kirby805