Topic

Can you recommend a water repellant down sweater…

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Can you recommend a water repellant down sweater…

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Delmar O’Donnell

@bolster

Locale: Between Jacinto & Gorgonio

Or maybe this would be considered a light jacket…something long sleeve, lightweight, with 2-4 oz of fill? Would prefer a water repellent down if possible. Have been looking at the W.R. LLBean sweater but it is over 1 pound and "looks heavy" (but it may not be). The Marmot Hangtime and Guide's Down are W.R., but over 1 lb 6 oz. So, still looking. Thanks!

Ike Jutkowitz
    BPL Member

@ike

Locale: Central Michigan

Sierra designs gnar light has 3 oz dridown. Mountain hard wear ghost whisperer has about 2.78. I have no personal experience with either though

Steve M
    BPL Member

@steve-2

Locale: Eastern Washington

Just came across this video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pIaWk0b8Jro

I'm surprised there are not more reviews/tests of the various "Dry Downs" on the market. If Patagonia's Encapsil performs this poorly I would conclude the technology is not there yet.

Edward Jursek
    BPL Member

@nedjursekgmail-com

Locale: Pacific Northwest