Topic

Guadalupes in December?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Campfire Trip Planning Guadalupes in December?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Mark Andrews

@buldogge

Locale: Midwest

Hey Guys… Any insight on hiking the Guadalupes in early December?

Looking for someplace to head before the winter gets too far along here in STL.

Any advice/routes/etc. much appreciated.

Figure 3-4 days, any routes/suggestions with 12-20 miles a day.

TIA
    -Mark in St. Louis

Jennifer Mitol
    Spectator

@jenmitol

Locale: In my dreams....

I am new to texas and also want to head to the Guadalupes…..

Let me know if you come up with something good. :)

Mark Andrews

@buldogge

Hey Jennifer…Will do.

Doesn't seem to be much interest in this discussion, unfortunately.

I know Eugene and a couple other guys have posted trip reports in the past.

I was hoping to go in November, but my hiking partner can't free up his time until Dec.

I'm sure, much like my last trip (Massive/Elbert), I'll just wing it…oh well.

With the water situation there I'm thinking some kind of zig-zag route that allows dropping out near a campground or ranger station to take on water would be ideal.

I need to start pouring over the maps and searching the internets…

-Mark

Richard Lyon
    BPL Member

@richardglyon

Locale: Bridger Mountains

Mark and Jennifer,

I'm interested if it can be scheduled before or after an upcoming trip to Dallas, likely mid-December. Keep me in the loop please.

I visited Guadalupe NP about five years ago and recall that there is one "natural" water point in the entire park. The Park Service campgrounds have taps. Be sure to include a hike up Guadalupe Peak – highest point in Texas, very easy hike unless the winds are impossible, and scenery unlike anything I saw in 25+ years in Texas.

Richard

Jennifer Mitol
    Spectator