Topic

Canyonland backpacking favorites

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Campfire Photo Gallery Canyonland backpacking favorites

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Paul Grube

@plosive

Locale: Above Cache Creek, CA

What are your favorite canyonland hikes? I am new to the Las Vegas area and I am looking for fall hikes within a couple of hours from here.
    Plosive
    “light is right”

Jim Ells

@ellsfamily

Paul, I gotta know, where is the canyon shown in your picture? Maybe that can be my next vacation.
    Thanks, Jim Ells

Paul Grube

@plosive

Jim,
    This photo is one taken on a March trip to the Paria Wilderness in S. Utah and N. Arizona. If approved by BPL editors, you will be able to see my article (plus video clip, gear list, 40+ photos, and trip report)in the BPL print format and/or online soon.

Jim, do you have any suggestions for backpacking spots within a few hours of Las Vegas?
    Plosive
    “light is right”

Adam McFarren

@amcfarre

I’m not from the Vegas area, but I spent a few days around there this July 4th long weekend. Death Valley is a little far, but really scenic. The higher elevations aren’t too bad in the summer and should be nice in the fall.

The Mount Charleston Wilderness is right out your backdoor, lots of great hiking, maybe not much water, but if you’re willing to carry in enough, you’ll probably have a lot of solitude in the evenings. I didn’t see anyone else backpacking there over the holiday weekend (lots of rock climbers and day hikers).

Heading up to Great Basin National Park would probably also get you a lot of solitude.

Death Valley, Telescope Peak report and photos

Mt Charleston Wilderness, Mummy Mountain report and photos

-adam

Paul Grube

@plosive