Topic

Potential move overseas

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 56 total)
  • Author
    Stephen Parks
    Spectator

@sdparks

Locale: Southwest

I've made it clear at work that I need to live somewhere with easier access to interesting hiking/backpacking/outdoor opportunities so I can treat my WDD, and it seems that they are starting to listen.

I'm a mechanical engineer with an oilfield services company, designing downhole equipment, currently in Houston. Unfortunately, we don't have many product centers in the US near mountain ranges. A coworker and I joke that we need a "Colorado Product Center", but that isn't in the cards. We do have lots of centers around the world, however. Some possibilities are France, just outside of Paris, Japan outside of Tokyo, a couple of places in the UK, Norway…

Japan is the most obvious fit in terms of my skill set and the project I'm currently working on – anyone have any experience with hiking there or just living there? I think Japan would be interesting because I'd probably be in a constant state of amused bewilderment, though I've been warned that being accepted into the culture is very unlikely.

France I've been to a few times, and I'd be close to a rail system that could take me to any of a number of great places in a few hours. Besides the Pyrenees and Alps there are endless interesting old towns and cities across Europe. Would be surrounded by French people (hope my bosses don't see this).u

UK – I don't do so well in dreary weather, and it is further from the good stuff. I've gotten lucky with the weather when I've been there, but I'm told that was exceptional.

Norway – probably awesome for half of the year, but I fear I'd go into a serious depression for the other half. And it is very expensive there.

I'm interested if anyone here has any insight on these locations.