Topic

Help for camping in the rain with Skyscape Scout tent

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Help for camping in the rain with Skyscape Scout tent

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    Anna T
    BPL Member

@danceswithlight

I have been hiking and camping for several years, usually with minimal gear, but so far only in fair weather. I would like to learn how to camp in the rain. To my surprise, I have found relatively few resources on this particular topic, so I'm posting here. Sorry for my bajillion questions, I just haven't ever experienced rainy camping so I'm a newbie in this regard.

I have a Six Moon Designs Skyscape Scout tent. I'm pretty happy with it in terms of size and weight. How can I best use it in the rain? Specifically…

1. How do I set it up in the rain so that it doesn't get wet?

I practiced in the backyard yesterday, and I can get it set up within a few minutes, but during a downpour I think it'd be soaked no matter how fast I did it (especially if it was windy too).

My current setup procedure, which takes about 4-5 minutes:
    – lay out stakes
    – put together poles
    – quickly unroll tent
    – put in only head & feet stakes, leaving a bit of slack
    – go under the canopy, being careful to move the inner net tent all the way under the middle of the canopy first, and put up the poles while inside the canopy
    – put in the side stakes
    – adjust tension on stakes as needed

How do I keep the tent dry when unrolling, especially if it's windy or a downpour?

And if I'm wearing wet raingear, like a poncho or rainjacket, how do I keep the tent dry when I'm putting up the poles inside the canopy?

2. After it's set up, how do I enter/exit without getting everything wet?