Topic

Torres Del Paine

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists Torres Del Paine

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    Chris B

@cjborgia

Hey everyone. I am just about to start planning a trip to Torres Del Paine and am looking for some info. All the other threads were a couple of years older so I figured I'd start a new one. Since I am just getting started I don't have my full gear list planned out but had a couple questions as I started to think it out. I will be doing the full circuit over 10 days or so in the first two weeks of December.

1) I've read that some of the campsites have problems with mice. Is it worth it to bring my Ursack or could I maybe get away with just sleeping with my food or something else.

2)I've read all about the winds. Right now I only own a Rab Boreas. Will I be able to get by in that or should I go out and buy a real wind shirt? I know I could save a bunch of ounces but not sure if I want to spend the money.

3)Insulation. Right now I am choosing between a Down Mtn Hardware Ghost Whisperer Jacket or a Primaloft LL Bean Ascent Packaway Pullover. I am a little nervous about keeping the down dry over 10 days as this will be the longest trip I have been on. Any advice on synthetic vs. down for TDP?

4) Should I bring a fleece along with either the synthetic or down puffy? I'd have to go out and buy one but I was thinking if I brought the down jacket it might be worth it to have as back up.

5) Do I need to bring gaiters? I have full length outdoor research ones.

Thank in advance for the help. If anyone has any general advice about TDP, Puerto Natalaes or Punta Arenas. That would be great too. Thanks

Jennifer Mitol
    Spectator

@jenmitol

Locale: In my dreams....