Topic

Help me get over fear of trekking pole tents

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Help me get over fear of trekking pole tents

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 22 posts - 1 through 22 (of 22 total)
  • Author
    chris smead
    BPL Member

@hamsterfish

Locale: San Jose, CA

I've been using a flycreek UL1 for a few years now and love it. However the weight savings of the zpacks Hexamid is super tempting.

Here's my 2 big concerns
    1. Is it impossible to set up on granite? All those guy out points seem like a challenge in less than ideal camp spots.

2. Is it stable in high winds?

-Chris

Franco Darioli
    Spectator

@franco

Locale: Gauche, CU.

There are trekking pole supported tents that only need 4 stake points to work and there are "freestanding " tents that need 12.
    So it isn't about trekking poles vs tent poles, it is about specific designs.
    (sorry I can't help you with the specific tent you are asking for although I have pitched a couple of those…)

Justin Baker
    BPL Member

@justin_baker

Locale: Santa Rosa, CA

"Is it impossible to set up on granite? All those guy out points seem like a challenge in less than ideal camp spots."

It probably wouldn't be possible to support a trekking pole on flat granite unless you jammed it in between a few rocks. If you can find some dirt, then you can use rocks as guy out points.
    I find a flat tarp to be the best option for really crazy and uneven sites. If you experiment around you can adapt a flat tarp to almost anything.

Greg Mihalik
    Spectator

@greg23

Locale: Colorado

Hexamid Solo+ here.

I often set up on slabs, not by choice, but because they are the only choice at the moment.