Topic

Newbie musings: regional availability of LW gear

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Newbie musings: regional availability of LW gear

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Heather Pisani-Kristl

@p-k

Locale: San Diego

First post to BPL…
    I'm a newbie backpacker, have been reading the archives for the past month, and what's interested me is the availability (or lack) of gear in the Boston area, where I live. Went to Mall-Wart hoping to buy $1/yard silnylon as some here have found (no luck), went to REI hoping to "kick the tires" on lightweight tents (nope, but they had lots of luggage and ski clothes). I wind up buying things from Campmor and returning them just as often.

OTOH, it's very easy to find Imusa aluminum cookware here (large South American population). And I was pleasantly surprised by the appearance of Knorr chipolte seasoning cubes in the supermarket (4g. per cube; one will flavor a pound of rehydrated beans). Perhaps we do have something here in the East that you lack in the West!

Ken Helwig
    BPL Member

@kennyhel77

Locale: Scotts Valley CA via San Jose, CA