Topic

Sleeping bags and footwear for Philmont

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Scouting Philmont Sleeping bags and footwear for Philmont

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Jeff Creamer
    BPL Member

@jcreamer

I have a 30 degree rated bag (WM megalite). Will this be adequate for Philmont? I don't know what trek we will be taking at this time. However, I know I am a cold sleeper. But this bag usually will carry me down to the high 20's.
    Also, I greatly prefer low cut trail shoes. But, everyone seems to be set on wearing boots at Philmont due to the rocky surface. Is this really necessary. I've just never really had a comfortable pair of boots before. Any suggestions appreciated.
    JC

Justin Baker
    BPL Member

@justin_baker

Locale: Santa Rosa, CA

If you like low cut shoes, wear low cut shoes.

M B
    BPL Member

@livingontheroad

More than enough bag.

Honestly, a 40F bag is all you need. Most of our scouts had 40F cheap bags in mid june.

The lowest expected temps in early june, at highest elevation camp (Mt Phillips) would only be about 30F. Add clothing and sleep in a tent, and you have that covered easily.

The rest of the time, you will sweat under a 30F bag.

You dont need boots for Philmont, or darn near anywhere else for that matter, unless you are carrying a very heavy pack. And then its for support underfoot, not mythological "ankle" support.

ed dzierzak
    BPL Member

@dzierzak

Locale: SE

Council contingent advisor here…

A 30 degree bag is more than adequate – that's what we recommend for those new to backpacking. Old hands know what they can get away with. I use a 40 degree bag – been there and know what to do when it gets colder.)