Topic

recovery from IT band pain? JMT in 1 week…

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion recovery from IT band pain? JMT in 1 week…

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    Inactive

A few months ago I developed IT band pain. Orthopedic surgeon says my knees are fine, I just have an overuse issue. After 3 months of PT its better but can still be painful. Because I've been training for the JMT, I've not taken the time off that I should.

I'm scheduled to do the JMT in a week, solo, and I'm beginning to wonder if this is a smart idea! I've done it 3 times already – at ages 20, 50, and last summer when I turned 60. I've never had knee issues before so I have no experience for how this is going to play itself out.

My training hike after work today – 6 miles/2000' gain – just felt awful. Last summer I started with plantar faciiitis and was able to walk through it and was ok. I don't think an IT band issue gets better when you do 18 mile/4000' days??

I see the PT again tomorrow to get his thoughts. I wonder if others here have had IT band issues and have experience with trying to hike through it.

Dan @ Durston Gear
    BPL Member

@dandydan

Locale: Canadian Rockies

Back in the 2012 Bob Marshall Wilderness Open I hiked through a lot of IT band pain. I could hardly bend my leg on day 2 and hobbled 24 miles in 16hrs. The next day after some rest and quite a bit of ibuprofen, I grinded thru 43 miles in 21 hrs with moderate to high pain to finish. After that event my knee was sore for about a month – probably not a great idea to push it anywhere near this far. It's quite short sighted.