Topic

modifying an existing bag… how far is too far?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear modifying an existing bag… how far is too far?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Ryan “Rudy” Oury
    BPL Member

@ohdogg79

Locale: Northern Arizona

I'm pretty new to UL backpacking and BPL (first new post actually) but the bug hit hard after a recent trip to Alaska where a buddy got me hooked! I've been a builder in the past and love creating things so the whole MYOG concept is scratching me right where I itch too. But I wanted to check w/ some of the more experienced among you before doing anything rash.

I've got ~10 yr old REI Talus50 backpack, that is in really good condition and weighs 3lb 14oz (see pics at end). I want a sub 2lb 45-50L pack. I've been running the numbers and it looks like I could get this pack to ~ 1lb 13oz, but would be left w/ a very rugged but featureless bag, that might not carry very well. Below are the weights of various components(all in oz). The things I'd consider removing are marked x at front, and all weight I was able to get a descent measurement of have *.

Overall Pack – 62*
    x Y-Frame/plastic structure – 11.4*
    x Brain – 7.1*
    x Back Pad – 6
    Hip Belt – 4.5*
    Shoulder Straps (total) – 3*
    x Side Compression Straps (6 total) – 3*
    x Upper extension – 2.5*
    x Structure pocket & zipper – 1.5
    x brain tie-down straps – 1.5*
    Side zipper – 1.5
    x Daisy chain – 1
    x Front flaps w/ strap – 1
    x Side gear loops (2 total) – .75
    x bladder mesh pocket – .5