Topic

Ultralight camera for night shots/stars?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Off Piste Photography Ultralight camera for night shots/stars?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 25 total)
  • Author
    chris smead
    BPL Member

@hamsterfish

Locale: San Jose, CA

Hi there. I'm a camera newbie and I'm currently using a gopro for most trips.
    While great for day stuff, it is horrible for night.
    Ideally I'd like a lightweight small camera that can take good night shots including time lapse of the stars.
    I'm willing to invest a good amount if such a thing exists.
    Thanks in advance for any suggestions!

Franco Darioli
    Spectator

@franco

Locale: Gauche, CU.

Some compact cameras have a minimum shutter speed of 15 sec most only do a few seconds max.
    Panasonic has a few that go up to 60 seconds.

The LX7 has the longest at 250 seconds, it could be one to look at.
    This one is at the large sensor end for a compact camera (7.44×5.58mm)

Going up in sensor size there is the Sony RX100 II (30 sec) 13.2×8.8mm sensor

Still relatively compact is the Fuji X100s with the large APS C (23.5×15.6mm) sensor .
    Min shutter speed is 30 sec.

So all of the above can take night shots.
    Generally speaking as you go up in sensor size you get less noise (cleaner images) and usually sharper lenses so better image quality.
    You will need to search to find out if any of the above have a built in intervalometer.

Aaron Savka
    BPL Member

@joatman

Locale: So Ill

You can easily install a hack on many of the Cannon Point and Shoot cameras to get a little over a minute exposure. CHDK installs fairly easily, and the quality of photos is respectable.

Here's a few links for more info:

http://hackaday.com/2008/05/27/how-to-expand-your-camera-with-chdk/

http://chdk.wikia.com/wiki/CHDK