Topic

Hexamid question: lines and line-locs

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Hexamid question: lines and line-locs

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    Yoyo
    Spectator

@dgposton

Locale: NYC metro

I just ordered a Hexamid and was wondering if I should add line-locs with my order (and how many?). If I understand correctly, the Hexamid uses 8 (!) guylines. Also, will I have to cut these to size, or do they come pre-cut?

Note: I have never used line-locs before, so I'll need help understanding how to install them.

Thanks!

Matt Weaver
    Spectator

@norcalweaver

Locale: PacNW

I use their standard size linelocs that come with the loops attached to them that make them super easy to adapt to the hexamid. I use 6 of them, with Lawson reflective line. Run the same length of line that ZPacks tells you to use when not using linelocs as per the included directions with the hexamid. For the other 2 lines that pull out the back wall a bit, these aren't meant to be under heavy tension, so I use the supplied thinner line, with a tautline hitch on the end for some adjustability.

I don't get how people use these shelters with fixed length lines. The ground in my area is always scattered with rocks/roots and I rarely get a flat even surface to set up. Linelocs has transformed my hexamid ease of setup.

Greg Mihalik
    Spectator

@greg23

Locale: Colorado

I have my LineLocks on the tent body, with a fixed loop at the stake end. It keeps them out of the mud and snow.

If you decide to go this route, have Joe add them during the build, for just the cost of the LineLocks.

You also need to discuss the line you will use. The line Joe typically supplies is a small diameter and quite stiff. I found it difficult to adjust. Go with something bigger and more supple.

This Thread discusses some of the issues.