Topic

Gravity filter vs. Aqua Mira: The age-old question

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Gravity filter vs. Aqua Mira: The age-old question

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 24 posts - 1 through 24 (of 24 total)
  • Author
    Yoyo
    Spectator

@dgposton

Locale: NYC metro

A few years ago, I posted a thread about piecing together your own gravity filtration system:

http://www.backpackinglight.com/cgi-bin/backpackinglight/forums/thread_display.html?forum_thread_id=21537&skip_to_post=416714#416714

I eventually settled on a Sawyer-based gravity filtration system, which I've been using for the last 3-4 years with good success. My current system weighs around 6.0 – 6.5 oz depending on the length of the "dirty hose" I decide to use (longer hose = shorter filtration time). (When I get a chance, I'll post pics).

Now I'm looking at lightening my pack further, thus doing away with a filter altogether. I'm vaguely aware of the Sawyer squeeze that came to market not long ago, but the inconvenience of having to squeeze a bag to get water doesn't sound too appealing. Also, I've read that the bags are not very durable.

I know that the tried and true method for UL backpackers is AquaMira drops. The real concern holding me back, though, is that the instructions state that you must wait a minimum of 4 hours to kill all protozoa, in particular Cryptosporidium. I do most of my hiking amongst the high mountain streams of Colorado, but still the concern remains. Will I be drinking safe water? There are also the occasional situations where the water is murky and is full of particulates, so I'd also want a method to address this as well.