Topic

Has anyone used polycyro under Hexamid net?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Has anyone used polycyro under Hexamid net?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    jscott
    BPL Member

@book

Locale: Northern California

I know that the groundsheet goes on top of the netting and why. But consider: when you're sure that there won't be any rain, maybe put the polycryo groundsheet under the netting, but leave a bit of net all around the edges exposed for possible condensation run-off.

Seems like it would help protect the netting and still let it function.

But I'm new to the tent and maybe this is a bad idea, or overkill.

USA Duane Hall
    BPL Member

@hikerduane

Locale: Extreme northern Sierra Nevada

Good point, I've already got a bit of pitch on mine after the first use, plus the netting soaked up some moisture. I'll have to do that next time, would save the netting some. I semi-retired my one piece of polycryo and will be using a fresh piece this coming weekend.
    Duane

Steve Meier
    BPL Member

@smeier

Locale: Midwest

I've used the poly both inside and outside of the Hexamid and found that I liked it more on the outside for the reason that you stated: it kept the netting cleaner and I spent a lot less time picking out small sticks and pine needles from the netting. And if cut small enough it didn't pool water when it rained.

Jeff McWilliams
    BPL Member

@jjmcwill

Locale: Midwest

I recently made one for my Hexamid Twin in an effort to save weight over the one I made earlier out of Tyvek. I used an Acco/ACE Hardware outdoor window insulating kit to make mine.