Topic

Revelation 10D or Rev X?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Revelation 10D or Rev X?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Author
    J C
    BPL Member

@joomy

So my question is about the different fabric options for the Revelation. I am currently torn between getting the absolute lightest NB1/NB2 10D combo, but I'm also a little wary of the strength and long-term durability of these fabrics. On the other hand I'm tempted by the durability of the Rev X 30D 1.1oz nylon, and the price, but put off by the ~100g weight difference in a 6'6 long quilt.

I know there are a lot of Rev and RevX users around here, so my main question is about the different fabric qualities, given that I can't look at or feel them until I buy one. I have a lot of experience with WM fabrics so comparisons to those would be particularly useful. I.e. How does the 10D compare to the WM Extremelite 0.9oz fabric and how does the 30D nylon compare to WM's 1.1oz Microfiber?

Matt Purnell

@treefern

Locale: Brisbane

I've got the same question. Plus how soft on bare skin is the 30D versus the 10D?

I've also shot off a query to Tim regarding the availability of the 10D. Because when I select a long, large Revelation, the 10D doesn't seem to be an option.

Jennifer Mitol
    Spectator

@jenmitol

Locale: In my dreams....

I liked the price of the X…but I was not a fan of the fabric. I know most people don't have any problem with it, but compared to the Revelation…well, there is no comparison. I ended up selling the X and keeping the Revelation.

Of course, I am a woman of a certain age and we tend to be a bit, um, sweaty at night. So I might be a bit more sensitive than others, but I did find the 30d quite plasticky.

If you can afford it, by all means go with the Revelation and don't look back.

J C
    BPL Member

@joomy