Topic

Clorine Dioxide question.

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums Food, Hydration, and Nutrition Clorine Dioxide question.

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    W I S N E R !
    Spectator

@xnomanx

Ok, I know this is a MUCH talked about issue, but I'm totally new to chlorine dioxide (I've been filtering forever) and want to make the switch for a JMT thru-hike this summer. Forgive me, but I haven't found any real concise answers to my questions through a search. I'd like to know:
    1. Is contaminated water on the outside of your treatment container a risk? If so, what do you do?
    2. Pre-filtering through a bandana, etc: This seems to imply the use of a separate, "dirty", collection container. It seems a wide-mouth would be necessary for the treatment/drinking container so you could hold a bandana around the rim while pouring…

Am I on the right track here?

Would any of you be willing to (yes, again) explain the steps you take and your favorite containers?
    Thanks for the help,
    Craig

James Pitts

@jjpitts

Locale: Midwest US

I use a narrow-mouth Platy (1l). I fill it with water, add the ClO2, and pour some back into the cap which I then dump on the threads. I very seldom have to deal with water that has to be pre-filtered. A few floaties are par for the course and don't bother me. In the summer I'll take two platy bottles. I drink from one while the other is being treated. I turn the bottle being treated upside-down on the outside of my pack so I don't confuse it with the one that I am drinking from.

W I S N E R !
    Spectator

@xnomanx

Thanks for the response James. I've always liked using Platy's, what you describe is pretty much what I had in mind.

Jeffery Ludwig

@jeffludwig