Topic

Sil Nylon Cutting

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear Sil Nylon Cutting

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Jeff Hollis
    BPL Member

@hyperslug

I'm new to sewing and want to sew tarps with sil nylon and light webbing. So if I am cutting pieces of 1.1 oz sil nylon what should I be looking for in scissors. I figure 8" or 9" made for fabric but what I find from searcing, information is all over the map. Has any experienced sewer who has worked with sil nylon found a favorite pair, though definitly something under $25. I just don't have good frame of reference.

Thanks,
    Jeff

Bob Gross
    BPL Member

@b-g-2-2

Locale: Silicon Valley

Some people do better with a rotary cutter. I do OK with a single-edge razor blade. That way, you don't really need to pick the fabric up away from your cutting table.

A clothing expert tells me that it is best to keep the fabric pressed down tightly on the cutting table, and she uses a heavy cast-iron bacon press for that.

–B.G.–

Jeff Hollis
    BPL Member

@hyperslug

Thanks Bob for your quick supply. A cutting table and rotary cutter are in my future but will still need scissors and for now just want a pair to practice getting to know and use my machine. Only time will tell what I end up liking.

Jerry Adams
    BPL Member

@retiredjerry

Locale: Oregon and Washington

silnylon is easy to cut

if you use scissors, don't use them to cut other things like paper. I wouldn't use fabric scissors to cut webbing either. Then you can just push the scissors through the fabric without having to move the handle up and down.

I tend to violate this rule. My scissors are always dull. I'm trying to do better though.

Bob Gross
    BPL Member

@b-g-2-2

Locale: Silicon Valley