Topic

Sleeping systems stupid questions

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion Sleeping systems stupid questions

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    David Goodyear
    BPL Member

@dmgoody

Locale: mid-west

Background: I am still in my transition to the light side. I have come from a 65 lb pack to a 25 lb pack. (7 day trip). I am not an expert, but I get expert advice from this site.
    I am in search of a better sleep system for my needs. Currently I use a synthetic (allergic to feathers) 45 deg mummy bag, a uber-light, and my empty pack under my legs. This was fine until I slept in my first shelter on a cold night. I froze my @#$ off. I slept in my tent the rest of that trip. I have read the articles on sleep systems on this site and have some ideas. (more confusion though)
    I could add a thinlight pad under my sleeping bag or add a silk mummy liner for minimal weight. (adding versatility to changing weather conditions)
    I could modify the bag to convert it to a top bag, but after reading the articles, would this really help.
    Of course, I could just get a better rated bag, but I don't have unlimited funds and do have spousal opposition to big $$ purchases. ( many $$ spent on transition to ultralight already)
    I would appreciate any nuggets of wisdom you could throw my way.

Thanks,

Dave

Sven Klingemann
    Spectator

@svenklingemann

The first thing I would do is get a sleeping-pad with a higher R-value. That should help quite a lot. A silk liner will indeed add 5-10 degrees to your bag. If you really expect the temperatures to be significantly lower than 45F you could use some vapor barrier clothing, for example from Stephensons Warmlite, which is not too expensive.
    Cheers,
    Sven

Brian UL

@maynard76

Locale: New England