Topic

How to summit Shasta

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Off Piste Mountaineering & Alpinism How to summit Shasta

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Sidney Pow
    BPL Member

@sidpow

Hey all,

I will be in the bay area from June-Aug. and would like to summit shasta during.

I know some people who have summited shasta and might go up with them in the end of June.

If this doesnt work out, I would still like to summit the mountain sometime. The question is, would I need a guide (I have zero mountaineering experience but am comfortable backpacking and doing JMT in Aug) and if I would need a guide, what would a good company be?

Also, is anyone here interesting in letting me (and possibly a buddy) tag along? We are both young and very fit.

Any advice is much appreciated, our money is a little tight

Art …
    BPL Member

@asandh

well you know the general rule … if you have to ask if you need a guide you probably do.

that said, a lot of people go up Shasta every year who are not mountaineers.
    The Avalanche Gulch route, I'm pretty sure is the standard non climber route. you may find it a bit exposed up high if you lack experience but I don't think its any more than 3rd class at most.
    most seem to take 2 days, but 1 day is feasible if you know what you're doing and where you're going.

this route may or may not require ice axe and crampons depending on the time of year you go and how much snow fell the previous winter.

Bob Gross
    BPL Member

@b-g-2-2

Locale: Silicon Valley