Topic

Help me plan an amazing 1st Oregon trip

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Campfire Trip Planning Help me plan an amazing 1st Oregon trip

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Matt Keenan
    Spectator

@mlkeenan

Locale: In the Mountains in the clouds

Gonna be going on a road trip up to Eugene, with a lady friend early to mid June, we re going up to visit a friend. They're both down to backpack but neither of them have any experience, with it, so its up to me to plan the trip. I d like to do a two nighter like 15-20 miles something near eugene would be preferred but not necessary so hit me with any suggestions. Also I really don't know the conditions of Oregon in June, bugs weather ect. so any insight on that would also be very welcome. Oh and this is my first time backpacking with girls so any suggestions as far as things to bring that will make them fall in love with me/ make their trip experience more enjoyable (mostly the second one) would be very welcome. Thanks for your time.

Jerry Adams
    BPL Member

@retiredjerry

Locale: Oregon and Washington

June – snow level maybe 5000 feet so nice alpine areas are more difficult

Nice lower elevation hikes in Bull of the Woods and Opal Creek. portlandhikers.org field guide has some detailed descriptions. and trip reports as you get closer to see current conditions

June can be bad for mosquitoes and those obnoxious black flies. Make sure and bring long pants/shirt and DEET.

You want two women to fall in love with you? hmmm…

wine? cheese and crackers?

Stephen Barber
    BPL Member

@grampa

Locale: SoCal

I'm sure others will have more recent info, since it's been 30 years since Ihiked there but…

from Eugene, head up the Mackenzie river until you get about to the top. Park. Hike left towards Mt. Jefferson, or right towards Three Sisters! Enjoy!