Topic

Overnight Gear List

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists Overnight Gear List

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    Patrick Weir

@skorpion317

Locale: Northeast

Hi all, I've been lurking on the forums for a little while now, and just decided to register.

I'm relatively new to ultralight backpacking. I've been using Ryel Kestenbaum's "The Ultralight Backpacker" as my Bible of sorts. In it, he gives the cutoff for what's considered an ultralight packweight (no food or water) at 13 lbs., and with food and water 20 lbs. I'm close to that – around 12.8 lbs. w/o food or water, and 18.7 lbs. with them on my first real outing going ultralight, over this past weekend. Here's my gear list for that trip:

Snow Peak 3-piece Titanium Cookset – 7.1 oz – 0.44375 lbs.
    Water – 4.7 lbs.
    Food – 1.25 lbs.
    Light My Fire Plastic Spork – 2 oz. – 0.125 lbs. (estimate)
    Outdoor Products Pinnacle Internal-Frame Pack – 3 lbs., 5 oz. – 3.3125 lbs. (estimate)
    Slumberjack Telluride 40* Sleeping Bag – 2 lbs., 1 oz. – 2.0625 lbs.
    Eureka Solitaire 1-person Tent – 3 lbs., 4 oz. – 3.25 lbs.
    Survival Kit – 14 oz.. – .875 lbs. (estimate)
    Gerber Camp Axe – 1 lb. (estimate)
    Map – 6 oz. – .375 lbs. (estimate)
    Princeton Scout Headlight – 2 oz. – 0.125 lbs.
    Poncho – 8 oz. – 0.5 lbs. (estimate)
    ½ RidgeRest Sleeping Pad – 6 oz. – .375 lbs. (estimate)
    100 ft. Nylon Rope – 6 oz. – .375 lbs. (estimate)

Total: 18 lbs., 12.3 oz. – 18.76875 lbs.

Excluded:

Hat
    Shirt
    Pants
    Belt
    Knife
    Pocket Knife
    Leatherman tool
    Hiking Shoes
    Socks
    Trekking Pole
    Keys
    Wallet
    Cell Phone