Topic

2-3 nights in the PNW in March

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Campfire Trip Planning 2-3 nights in the PNW in March

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • Author
    Paul Backus

@backuspaul

Locale: Bellingham, WA

Hi all! I'm currently attending university in Bellingham, WA, and I have no plans for our spring break (last week of March). I'm thinking of taking a few days and hiking somewhere, since I haven't had much chance to do that so far. I need some recommendations :)

I'm looking for a trail I can do (15-20 miles) in late March without encountering too much snow/ice (or at least nothing that'll need special gear to traverse). I'm thinking somewhere in the cascades. The west Olympic beaches are a bit too far.

I have a 32 degree bag, but can probably rent a warmer one if needed. TT Rainbow and a cuben :D Bear Paw Cub Den 1.5 are my shelters, and a heavy old Eureka 2P tent :p I've been snow camping before, but I'm from Michigan. I'm not too familiar with mountains yet, especially in the shoulder season.

Thanks! :D

Dale Wambaugh
    BPL Member

@dwambaugh

Locale: Pacific Northwest

Hittin' the books in B'ham, eh? My daughter is a student there and my wife was too.

Check wta.org and nwhikers.net. WTA has all the major trails listed and most have current trail reports. nwhikers.net has the best trip reports out there.

I send you there as trailhead access and snow levels are tricky at this time of year, and can change in a heartbeat. My avatar is at Heather Lake on the north side of Mt. Pilchuck in February 2010. The lack of snow was a fluke and there was 2'-3' feet of snow in that spot a few weeks later.