Topic

Complete range of sleep setup, aka the quilt quiver

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion Complete range of sleep setup, aka the quilt quiver

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    spelt with a t
    BPL Member

@spelt

Locale: Rangeley, ME

Obviously this is going to vary depending on where you live and hike, but assuming you've got your sleep system dialed in, I'm wondering how many bags/quilts you have and what range of degrees they cover. Right now I have a 20 degree quilt and a 30 degree bag that I switch off using, and a 0 degree bag. For me, I would think insulation pieces at 0, 20, and 40 degrees would be sufficient (but obviously I'm still working it out). Anything below 0 and the 40 degree could be layered on top, anything above 60 or so I could open up the 40 degree piece or else just sleep in my clothes. Thoughts?

Aaron D
    Spectator

@ardavis324-2-2-2

One 30 degree quilt. I don't ever go out when it gets below 20's. If warmer, I'll just use it loosely like a blanket. I avoid having more than one item of the same type of gear.

spelt with a t
    BPL Member

@spelt

I admire your minimalism, honestly. I've been slowly changing my life to be able to live with fewer possessions. But I like to ski and hike in winter and that requires a dedicated cold weather bag.

John Vance
    BPL Member

@servingko

Locale: Intermountain West

I have been fine with a 15f quilt and a 40f quilt. The 15f quilt is fine for me down to 0f and the 40f quilt is good to the mid twenties by augmenting either with what I normally carry.