Topic

GoreTex PacLite – breathability?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) GoreTex PacLite – breathability?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    J-L
    BPL Member

@johnnyh88

I'm considering buying this rain jacket made of GoreTex PacLite from Luke's Ultalite: http://lukesultralite.com/content/gore-tex-limited-edition-shells

I have never used any GoreTex shells before. I know on paper there is a difference in breathability. But when hiking, would you expect to see any noticeable difference in breathability between this jacket and one like the Outdoor Research Helium II?

The GoreTex Paclite jacket weighs 7.2 oz (size M). The Outdoor Research Helium II weighs 6.4 oz (size L). Would I be gaining much for the small weight increase?

Jeffs Eleven
    BPL Member

@woodenwizard

Locale: NePo

I use paclite pants and a helium II jacket. Both work well for me here in PNW.

My wife wears a Paclite jacket with no probs.

Maybe a nerdier person with numbers and pie charts would give a better answer…

FWIW the Helium is amazing to me. when you fold it in the stash pocket it fits in the back pocket of my jeans. The hood stayed on in prob 25-30mph winds- strong enough you could lean into it. Keeps me dry.

Max Dilthey
    Spectator

@mdilthey

Locale: MaxTheCyclist.com

My Paclite pants and jacket are getting a workout today. Temps in the 50's and I'm biking furiously all over. I'm wearing them now.

Feels like I'm not wearing anything. Cool, airy, and light. Very breathable. A+

Haven't owned them in hot weather yet.

spelt with a t
    BPL Member

@spelt

Locale: Rangeley, ME

I've been very happy with Goretex in general, and have had zero problems with my Paclite jacket.

Brad Rogers
    BPL Member

@mocs123

Locale: Southeast Tennessee