Topic

Looking for a Portland or PNW backpacking buddy

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Campfire Hiking Partners / Group Trips Looking for a Portland or PNW backpacking buddy

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Loki Cuthbert
    BPL Member

@lokbot

Locale: Portland, OR

I'm new to backpacking. This is my second season I started off last season with a 30+ baseweight. I hiked about 100 miles last summer and am looking to push myself now that I've got myself down to a lovely 11 lb kit. I'm looking to find some friends to get out and explore with.

I'd like to spend this year focusing on building my skill set. I don't know much about planning trips with just a topo map and compass. I've done most of my trips using guide books and the GPS on my phone.

-Loki

Mary D
    BPL Member

@hikinggranny

Locale: Gateway to Columbia River Gorge
    Ian
    BPL Member

@10-7

I'm based out of Eastern Washington and I have a few backpacking trips and fun day hikes planned for this summer including:

*Climb Mt. Adams (overnight at lunch counter)
    *St. Helens day hike and car camp afterwards (haven't requested a permit yet)
    *Day hike the Enchantments from TH to TH (prolly in August as this will be a long but rewarding day)
    *Hike PCT from White Pass to Chinook Pass in two days (fun and not so grueling two day hike covering 30 miles)
    *A couple overnighters in the Blue Mountains

I'll post them on this forum a couple weeks before I'm ready to go with the exception of St. Helens which will be earlier due to the permit requirement.

I've been in contact with another BPL hiker from the PDX area who has mentioned a hike in the Gorge area.

Mary D
    BPL Member

@hikinggranny