Topic

Newbie help on lightweight shelters…

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Newbie help on lightweight shelters…

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    David Ure

@familyguy

Hi all,

I am a relative newbie to light backpacking and judging by my > than 55Lb packing in recent years I have obviously been living in more relative ‘pain’ than necessary. I am considering the following shelter options and would like some honest perspective. Please consider that I am going from a 7 plus Lb 2 person shelter and I am trying to not go too extreme. Some of the following are not available in Canada or alternatively, I am having a difficult time locating retail examples so hence my need to confer with the experts. All have benefits and advantages, at least on paper, but the more I look, the more I struggle with decision making. The only real caveat is that I would like to have a relative free standing structure as I often camp on beaches (yes, we actually have these in Canada).

-BD Lightsabre plus ID siltarp (approximately 1 lb 15 oz). I like the extra room that the BD provides (but have not actually seen one in person as they are not sold in Canada) but want the tarp for inclement weather and / or for cooking. Of course, the thought of ‘packability’ is attractive as well, affording me the opportunity to carry a much smaller, lighter back pack.

-SD Mach 1. At 3 Lb 10 oz not the lightest, but 22 sq ft of room and a huge vestibule that can be propped up with trekking poles. Only 31 inches of headroom though.