Topic

Midwest Gear List – Spring / Summer 2012

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists Midwest Gear List – Spring / Summer 2012

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 21 posts - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)
  • Author
    Cole Crawford
    BPL Member

@cdc43339

Locale: Somerville, MA

I'm pretty new to hiking, did a few weeklong trips last year and am planning on the same this year but with a lighter pack as much as possible. I'm down to about 14 lb pack weight, with 4 lb worn and 12 lb consumables including water. I'd like to get the total down a few more pounds if possible.

My hiking style isn't that UL – I usually go with friends who show up with a variety of gear and pack weights.

I'll be hiking in the Midwest from May to September.

The tent and sleeping pad will stay. I'm open to pack and sleeping bag suggestions, but I am on a tight budget and this site is already leaking away all my liquid income …

Here's the GearGrams list, go at it please!

http://www.geargrams.com/list?id=11047

spelt with a t
    BPL Member

@spelt

Locale: Rangeley, ME

A couple observations:
    (1) You will want a warmer bag for shoulder season, 30F at the least, and warmer if your hikes will be in the upper Midwest where you can encounter nights below freezing up to Memorial Day and beyond.

(2) The Quest is a very large pack, even for a weeklong trip. I would focus on replacing that and your bag before trying to shave weight from your first aid or toiletries kit.

(3) If you don't plan to be bushwhacking, I would ditch the non-breathable rain jacket and get a set of FroggToggs (or the lighter version, whose name escapes me atm). There's been a drought lately (as I'm sure you know), but IMO you will appreciate a breathable jacket for summer rainstorms and rainpants for cold spring or fall rain.