Topic

Nunatak Custom Alpinist and Sub Alpinist – “micro” review

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Nunatak Custom Alpinist and Sub Alpinist – “micro” review

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Michael Cheifetz
    BPL Member

@mike_hefetz

Locale: Israel

So this isnt really a review since I have limited experience with using the bags…it is more of a design review +"out of the box"+ used for a few nights.
    I put this here cause for some reason there isn't enough data out there about Nunatak (although IMO Tom has been doing this for quite longer than some of the others) and I figured that someone might appreciate the extra info.

The backdrop story:
    I somehow stumbled upon Nunatak in 2005 and ended up ordering a custom Alpinist to replace a WM Verdsalite i had left for a friend in China when I hiked there. What i liked about the Alpinist it was that it was a traditional mummy bag but with what looked like a more efficient hood design + center zip.
    It was custom in as much as it had taller baffles (3" instead of 2.5) and overfilled with 4oz (to make it 16oz fill total). It also had a Raku style opening in the footbox (see their website) so I could ostensibly walk with it to pee etc. Quantum outer and Teffeta inner…and full length center zip.
    Long story short i was happy and used it for a few trips……fast forward to a couple of years later I decided I want another lighter circa 30F bag….and ended up ordering a custom sub alpinist.
    The design mandate was lightest materials available, ~30F, shave weight where I can, full mummy. I was willing to compromise on comfort insofar as width (i'm a bulky guy – 210#@ 5'10" 50",43", 33" shoulder,waist, foot) and be delicate with the bag.