Topic

Full featured yet light pack?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Full featured yet light pack?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 22 posts - 1 through 22 (of 22 total)
  • Author
    matt brisbin
    Spectator

@firestarter01

Locale: Bay Area

Hello. I'm new to BPL and currently consider myself a pretty average backpacker. I haven't made the move to UL yet but it's pretty fascinating reading up on the subject. Looking to purchase a new internal frame backpack that's somewhere around 65L-70L and am on the fence when it comes to the more custom made 'UL cuben fiber' packs.

This is by no means light but in terms of feature set this appeals to me:
    http://www.gregorypacks.com/products/mens/technical/238/baltoro-65

Does anyone have experience with this:
    http://www.ula-equipment.com/catalyst.asp#

If anyone does have the ULA pack. How is the internal frame and back padding? Doesn't seem like there is much there.

My average pack weight without water is right around 25lbs, 6ft/slim fit.

Thanks in advance,

Kenneth Jacobs
    BPL Member

@f8less

Locale: Midwest -or- Rockies

I might suggest looking at the Granite Gear Blaze A.C. 60. Sounds like it will fit the bill of your transition from your current base weight into a lighter one.

By all means, not a UL backpack…but capable of carrying the load you have. A lot of UL packs top out at 25-35lbs. max load. The Blaze A.C. 60 will handle 35lbs no problem. I have taken it even higher, but comfort level goes down from there.

HTH

KJ

Jason G
    BPL Member

@jasong

Locale: iceberg lake

the catalyst is a good choice for your baseweight

William Johnson

@steamboat_willie

I own the ULA Circuit and could have gone with the Ohm model as well. I have used the circuit for 4-season camping depending on what loads and volumes were needed.