Topic

What I learned today (long)

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion What I learned today (long)

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Jaiden .

@jaiden

I'm still a newbie hiker, and this is my first time out for the year, so I don't expect anyone will learn anything from this post, but I feel like writing it anyway, so here goes. I didn't do anything impressive, but went out after work with a day pack for a short hike in a nearby state park. For me, as a desk jockey who hasn't been athletic in ten years, this is a good start. I made my day pack somewhat heavy in case of an emergency overnight, and to test out my legs. I learned a lot, which was 90% of my goal.

56 degrees and cloudy, no wind.
    A bit over Two miles, blazed trail, in some places very steep, wet (trail = stream) and muddy
    One hour plus 15 minutes enjoying the view.

Some things I learned:

Snow melt is COLD, but even at 56 degrees it feels nice when you're moving. My feet are always hot, and the wrightsock coolmesh double layers I tried out worked very well with the ventilated shoes, with or without water.

Trail runners don't "dry" so much as empty of water enough to warm back up quickly. I like them a lot and didn't miss the ankle support, but debated whether I could have kept my feet dry in boots. I think if it were colder, this might have been important and will consider getting a pair. I see why extra socks are on everyone's emergency list.