Topic

7 Ounce External Frame Pack

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear 7 Ounce External Frame Pack

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    Daryl and Daryl
    BPL Member

@lyrad1

Locale: Pacific Northwest, USA, Earth

Here's the latest test version of my myog external frame pack.

here

here

here

I've been fiddling with this basic design for 15 years or so. I started with a 5 lb MSR external frame pack and kept reducing weight while maintaining function and capacity. I've posted other versions here before.

The pack in the photos weighs about 6.8 ounces (pack, frame, full suspension waist belt and shoulder straps) and has a back bag capacity of about 4000 cubic inches. Stuff can also be lashed to the top bar and a front bag can be added. So the potential capacity can be increased to the 6000-7000 cubic inch range. I'll be testing it over the winter with daily trips to the gym and grocery store. I routinely carry 30 lbs or less but have carried 40 lbs in/on previous versions.

The pack can be taken apart and put back together without tools in a few minutes. Here is a group shot of the components prior to assembly. Left to right: (1)vertical frame spars (Skyshark 300s)=1 ounce (2) Shoulder straps and top bar of frame=2 ounces (3) waist belt = 2.1 ounces (4) Back bag = 1.7 ounces Total Ounces = 6.8.

here

Here are individual shots of items 2-4.

(2) Shoulder Pads and Top Bar=2 ounces

here

(3) Waist Belt = 2.1 ounces

here

(4) Back Bag =1.7 ounces
    Back bag is a simple flat bag 26" wide X 30" tall) made from Thru Hiker's Momentum 50 fabric.

here

d k
    BPL Member

@dkramalc

Looks like you've updated the connections from the top bar to the side spars. What are you using there now?

I'd also love to see more detail on how the side spars connect to the waist belt.