Topic

weeks worth of food?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums Food, Hydration, and Nutrition weeks worth of food?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Brian Kelly

@brik9876

Ok so Im getting a new pack and i cant decide on the size and it is just based on consumables. I am new to this ul backpacking style and im curious what even would bring on a 5-7 day trip as far as food goes in order for it to fit in a 2400(+600 outside net pocket) or would u guys just have a bigger pack for that even if so im still curious what food everyone is using and do most of you dehydrate your own food or just buy things not needing dehydrated?

Anonymous
    Inactive

"im curious what even would bring on a 5-7 day trip as far as food goes in order for it to fit in a 2400(+600 outside net pocket)"

I regularly get 8 days' worth of food in a ULA OHM, which has a main compartment of 2400 c.i., and have packed as much as 11 days into it. Currently I only carry 19 oz of food/day, but on a couple of 11 day trips I was carrying 21 oz/day. The secret is to select food items that do not have a lot of air space between the particles, or to crush those which do so you can pack them densely without much air space. Examples are: mashed potatoes; dehydrated split pea soup; cous cous; olive or coconut oil; hummus, to mention a few. Even potato chips can be crushed to reduce their volume, as can nuts and granola. Powders, such as Ensure, Nido dried milk, and "sports drinks" like Hammer Perpetuem are already crushed to the max. The choices are practically endless. I hope this helps.

Mary D
    BPL Member

@hikinggranny

Locale: Gateway to Columbia River Gorge

I suspect you'll get a lot of different answers, since so much depends both on gear configuration and your food/cooking lifestyle. Mine is not necessarily a typical example!