Topic

merino washing (at home/outdoors/travelling)

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) merino washing (at home/outdoors/travelling)

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 22 posts - 1 through 22 (of 22 total)
  • Author
    Claudio Zanoni
    BPL Member

@zachiator

Hi All,

I am used to washing my clothes in a sink or shower when travelling. Outdoors I also handwash, yet less frequently.

I am new to Merino, so my questions are around the what to use for washing. So far I used:
    – At home: generic washing liquid
    – Outdoors: Travel soap (concentrated)
    – Travelling: showergel or a bar of soap

Sales staff at an outdoor shop told me to wash merino only with wool detergent so as to avoid loss of lanolin (wool fat) which would result in the wool garment loosing some core functions (odor resistancy & soft feel = more ichty)….

Is that something you should really give attention to, or is it ok to wash wool in any of the 3 ways listed above?…

Wool detergent is crossed out on the icebreaker stuff on their website…

I am a bit lost here, the shirts are expensive, so I would hate to do the wrong thing and loose function…. (wicking, no smell, fast drying, relatively soft feel)…

Cheers,
    Claudio

James Marco
    BPL Member

@jamesdmarco

Locale: Finger Lakes