Topic

Lightweight shelters with floors

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Lightweight shelters with floors

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Christian Loew

@blindspot

Im new to backpacking and UL backpacking.

I have been trying to do a lot of research, reading, trying to figure out what gear to purchase….man is there a lot out there. How do oyu keep it all straight??

Anyhow, my question is about floored vs floorless shelters.

Personally I would want a floored shelter…fully enclosed? So I've been looking at Tarptent and I know you can order them with a floor, is that fully enclosed then, or just a floor sheet? Can someone explain that to me?

Thanks

Owen McMurrey
    Spectator

@owenm

Locale: SE US

Unless something changed very recently, the Tarptent "inners" that have a floor will also include netting, or a combination of netting with sidewalls(that can be ordered instead of all netting).
    I recently bought the TT Notch with full netting for use in the summer. I got a cuben "Solo" floor from Zpacks.com for when it's colder, and bugs aren't an issue:
    http://www.zpacks.com/shelter/cuben_groundsheet.shtml

Pic:
    http://imageshack.us/a/img19/2113/img01354201207130931.jpg

I'm not familiar with everything out there, but these are silnylon, so they weigh more, but cost less:
    http://www.bearpawwd.com/shelters_floors/bathtub_floor.html

Edit 1/22/14: testing the edit function on an old post…
    9ylv.jpg

9jqw.jpg

Joe Clement
    BPL Member

@skinewmexico

Locale: Southwest

I'm pretty sure that Tarptent doesn't make any tents now that don't have floors sewed in them. Unless it's a tent with a separate inner.

Christian Loew

@blindspot