Topic

cuben fiber, is it worth the extra money.

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) cuben fiber, is it worth the extra money.

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 54 total)
  • Author
    Brian Kelly

@brik9876

First i just want to say plz forgive if this offends anyone i do not mean it to. i am just new to all this and i am truly curious bc id like to justify getting cuben fiber to my wife lol.
    I am curious about cuben fiber backpacks,tarps and even sleeping bags. I know they are lighter and water proof but are they more durable. I am concerned about the life of these objects bc they are so light and the only knowledge i have is from what i have read being i have no experience in the field. I have heard many times that we sacrifice durability for weight, for example if i spend 500-600 on a tarp system or get a cuben fiber quilt bc they are light will they last at least a few years or bc they are such light weight ill be lucky to get one season out of it b4 having to spend another 600 dollars?

michael levi

@m-l

Locale: W-Never Eat Soggy (W)affles

You are way off on pricing. Take a look at the hexamid solo it's $300 with bug screen. Weighs 10oz.

Fly creek ul1 costs the same yet weighs 32oz.

That's nearly 1.5 pounds saved with no added cost.

Do you need bug protection? You could get a poncho tarp that is triple use (rain jacket, pack cover, tarp) for about $180 and weighs 5oz.

Dan @ Durston Gear
    BPL Member

@dandydan

Locale: Canadian Rockies

You're asking a pretty general question, as there are quite a few variants of cuben and a wide variety of applications. So on one exteme, a backpack using 0.33oz cuben is a failure waiting to happen, while on the other extreme, a tarp made of a 1.5oz is unbelievably durable.

So for a tarp, one might say that: