Topic

Tarp camping in the southern US

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion Tarp camping in the southern US

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Jack Stalnaker

@fadecomic

Hi,

I have rabidly read a great deal of this site, and I'm very interested. I am by no means a newbie to camping, but I've never tried to go lightweight before. I really like the idea of tarp camping, but I want to know how well that works in the southern part of the US. A lot of the advice articles I see (including the Scout ones here) are by campers from the northern part of the country. Here, it is humid and hot a great deal of the year, and that comes complete with a side of bugs. I've read some of the other forum articles asking for opinions, but I had a few questions of my own.

I see quite a few posts, for example, recommending bug bivies and ground sheets for bugs and rain. My question is by the time you add all of that, why not just use a tent? Do you gain a significant weight savings? Seems like you pay a cost in comfort though, because those bivies seem to remove the very freedom you got a tarp for in the first place. This isn't meant as an attack, but a genuine question.

What about heat and humidity? I see a lot of advice about quilts vs bags and the like, but neither is ideal for September camping in east TX, is it? The nice thing about a tent is you can open all the flaps and still have bug protection and privacy enough to flop out in your boxers. Can you have a good hot weather camping experience in a tarp? If so, how do you guys do it?

Tom Lyons

@towaly

Locale: Smoky Mtns.

I live in the Southeast, and I tarp camp.