Topic

Cuben Stuff Sacks (my first MYOG attempt)

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear Cuben Stuff Sacks (my first MYOG attempt)

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Logan Bowling
    Spectator

@bowlingl25

Locale: Almost Heaven

So I am very interested in making a few cuben fiber stuff sacks. I have little to no sewing experience so the idea of taping the seams really appeals to me. The main question I have is do you think it is necessary to reinforce any of the cuben fiber that is being cinched closed? If so, what is the simplest way of doing it. Any other advice is also very welcome.

Thanks!!

michael levi

@m-l

Locale: W-Never Eat Soggy (W)affles

Buy a zpacks stuff sack and copy it?

James Reilly
    Spectator

@zippymorocco

Locale: Montana

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wSyfoecZCSE

I made all mine following this video and they have lasted approximately 500 miles so far.

If you still need tape I used this

http://www.ebay.com/itm/1-ROLL-3M-Adhesive-Transfer-Tape-9485PC-1-2-in-x-60-yd-5-0-mil-02120063476-/260990708324?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item3cc4422a64

If you need eyelets Joann's has them for about $5 with the installation tools included.

As far as reinforcement goes. The fold that makes the drawstring channel is plenty for strength.

Good luck!

Joe L
    BPL Member

@heyyou

Locale: Cutting brush off of the Arizona Tr

+1 to buying one from Zpacks since Joe sells the fabric and the tape too.

Using 3M brand #94 solvent/cleaner/prep is supposed to help the tape stick better.

Does Steve Evans (Suluk 46) still have cuben bonding info buried on his website?