Topic

Let the schooling begin – help?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists Let the schooling begin – help?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Remington Roth
    BPL Member

@remjroth

Locale: Atlantic Coast

I'm rather new to this site, but already I wish I had found it earlier. I'm not new to hiking (nor do I claim to be an expert), but I'm still learning in regards to UL (and SUL?). I want to cut my weight even further and I don't mind sacrificing comfort. How should I proceed?

I don't know if you are all familiar with the website/program called "gear grams". I'll present my list that way:

http://www.geargrams.com/list?id=9460

I already know that I need a new sleeping bag. I'm trying to figure out the best way to turn the one listed into a quilt. I don't have a lot of money available.

I bought the Bivy two years ago and have yet to actually use it – don't worry, it doesn't sit idly in my pack. I have only taken it on one previous trip. I realized on my last trip that I didn't want to be restricted to cowboy camping or huts (all of my trips are on the AT). That is also where the poncho/tarp comes into play. This is bad, but I don't even know what type of material the poncho is. It isn't too heavy and I know it's certainly waterproof – I see it as a temporary solution. Like I've said, I've never used this system. The general idea is fairly simple:
    This is the tarp with the marmot alpinist underneath (without a sleeping bag).
    Please tell me what I should do differently (because this is pretty unrefined). Before adding the tarp and bivy, I didn't carry a shelter and I carried a Golite Tumalo 2.5 layer Pertex Jacket (10oz) for rain protection.