Topic

1st night camping with tarp, what did I do wrong?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion 1st night camping with tarp, what did I do wrong?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 22 posts - 1 through 22 (of 22 total)
  • Author
    Jared Hendren
    BPL Member

@jphendren

Hello,

I recently discovered ultra light backpacking, so am a newbie to this. I have been backpacking since 1983 however, just with heavy stuff LOL. On Tuesday I decided to do an overnight trip up our local mountain, Charleston Peak (11,918'). After an 8 mile hike I summited at 6:48 PM, and headed back down to find a suitable place to camp for the night. The North Ridge is very rocky, not much in the way of nice soft spots to lay. I found this spot on the crest of the ridge at 11,010', and pitched camp for the night.

Devil's Thumb camp.